More Wishing

I wish to eat pizza. I wish to go shopping. I wish to graduate. I wish to have a home. I wish to find a mate. I wish to have a child. I wish to see another day.

We tend to wish for particular outcomes, and these outcomes often occur. Either these wishes naturally align with what’s likely to happen, or there’s a good chance that wishes are commonly granted.

When we dream of the future, we’re often wishing for those dreams to come true. Wishes appear to play a large part in our thoughts and imagination.

And we seem to believe that wishes can be fulfilled, because we’re often overcome with the feeling of expectation, eagerly awaiting our desired outcome. What are longterm goals, but wishes.

But there’s a mystery: How are wishes related to outcomes? Can this relationship be revealed through experimentation? And, how do wishes relate to happiness, does fulfillment inspire happiness? Or, does perpetual wishing lead to an agitated state? Should wishing be avoided and suppressed?